Kaas


‘I see this book – it cannot be called a novel – as my most successful work, because I believe that I have presented a balanced picture of the painful emotions and the tragic situation of a man forced by circumstances to ply a trade that is totally at odds with his character, his talents and his temperament. This book – more than any other – is a part of myself, the expression of my aversion to publicity and commerce. As publicity was too abstract to write about, I chose cheese. It has shape, colour, aroma, and sometimes it stinks. I could just as easily have chosen fish.’

Translated as Käse. Queso. Fromage. Juusto. Cheese. En historie om ost. Formaggio olandese. Gvina Hollandit. And then some.

On Goodreads: Cheese, Kaas, Käse, Formaggio ollandese ….

‘En dan gaan zij restaurants noemen, tegen elkander op, niet alleen in België maar tot ver in ‘t buitenland.

De eerste keer, toen ik nog niet zoo schuw was, vond ik het mijn plicht er ook een te citeeren en wel in Duinkerken. Een schoolkameraad had mij jaren geleden gezegd dat hij daar gedineerd had, op zijn huwelijksreis. En ik had den naam onthouden omdat het de naam van een bekend vrijbuiter is.

Ik hield mijn restaurant gereed en wachtte op een gunstige gelegenheid.

Maar zij hadden het ditmaal over Saulieu, Dijon, Grenoble, Digne, Grasse en waren dus blijkbaar op weg naar Nice en Monte-Carlo, zoodat ik nu bezwaarlijk Duinkerken vernoemen kon. Dat zou een indruk hebben gemaakt als van een die plotseling met Tilburg komt aanzetten terwijl de restaurants van de Riviera worden opgesomd.’

Kaas is on my list of deserted-island-books.

One thought on “Kaas

  1. Pingback: :: Books :: – anja murez. uebersetzerin. translator. vertaalster.

Leave a Reply

